Top Asian & Oriental Chefs to be feted at House of Commons

5th May 2017



The nation’s favourite Asian and Oriental chefs, as determined by popular public vote, have been announced by the Asian Catering Federation [ACF].



The top thirty will be invited to a special presentation ceremony being held in the Terrace Pavilion of the House of Commons on Monday 15th May 2017.  The event will also be used to launch the Asian Curry Awards 2017, organised by the ACF being presented on at a glittering ceremony on Sunday 12th November, where the top chefs and restaurants will be revealed.



The top thirty chefs have been named as: Rafique Ali, Bokhara Bangor, Belfast;Harneet Baweja, Gunpowder, London; Vineet Bhatia, Vineet Bhatia, London; Ahad Nur, Millennium Balti, Leamington Spa; Sham Alom, Rumi’s, Beverley; Dev Banda Everest Inn, Grantham;  Will Bowlby Campbell, Kricket, London; Stephen Gomes, Moksh, Cardiff;Imran Hussain, Shapla, Donegal; Shah Faysol Miah, Bangla, Bangor; Abdul Majid, Royal Nawaab, Stockport; Muhammed Jehangir, Royal Nawaab, London; Palash Mitra, Gymkhana, London;Abul Monsur, Taj Cuisine Chatham; Jiwan Lal, Babur, London, Azadur Rahman, Red Fort London; Luthfur Ahmed, Bengal Brasserie, Belfast;   Rafaqat Saleem,   Royal Nawaab, Manchester;  Karam Sethi, Hoppers London; Kaori Simpson, Harajuku  Kitchen, Edinburgh; Muhammad Shoaib, Royal Nawaab, London;   Abdul Sobur, Zafran, Southend;   Alun Sperring, Chilli Pickle, Brighton;  Sameer Taneja, Talli Joe, London; Cyrus Todiwala, Café Spice Namaste, London; Yoong Cheong Wong, Rasa Sayang London; Mahamud Zaman,  Zaman International Cuisine, London; Abdul Kadir, The Grand Sultan, Port Talbot; Chad Rahman, Chez Mumtaj, St Albans; and Atul Kochhar, Benares, London.



A panel of judges led by the Cobra Good Curry Guide editor Pat Chapman will now visit these venues.  Two overall winners (one casual, one fine, dining) will be announced at the November ceremony, all with a host of other national and regional awards.  The full list of categories can be seen, and online nominations made at